News Archive

Honoring Lamplighter Spirit
Posted 02/24/2020 11:17AM

On Friday, February 21, the Lamplighter community honored Jennifer Karol and Alex Sharma with the Lamplighter Spirit Award. The award, established in 2003 during the School’s 50th anniversary, is presented annually by the Lamplighter Alumni Association to individuals or groups who embody the spirit of Lamplighter. Recipients are dedicated to the mission of The Lamplighter School and have made a lasting impact on generations of Lamplighter students. The 2019-2020 recipients of the award, Mrs. Karol and Mr. Sharma, have made extraordinary contributions to Lamplighter and the Dallas community.

Mrs. Karol has served the Lamplighter community for more than 20 years as a parent, alumni parent, and a trustee. As Chair of the Igniting Young Minds Campaign, she helped raise more than $16 million to build the new LPA Barn and Eastin Family Innovation Lab. Her work at Lamplighter, as well as several Dallas area nonprofits, including Deeds Not Words, Planned Parenthood, and The Bridge Homeless Recovery Center, has had a profound impact on organizations serving students and families.

Mr. Sharma’s service to Lamplighter spans throughout the past 14 years and includes several major leadership roles. He served as Chair of the Board of Trustees from 2012-2014 and also chaired the Head of School Search Committee in 2010 which brought Dr. Joan Buchanan Hill to Lamplighter. His dedication to Lamplighter, along with other local nonprofit organizations including Family Gateway and KIPP DFW, has helped our students, as well as other Dallas area students and families tremendously.

The Lamplighter community was proud to recognize Mrs. Karol and Mr. Sharma for their tremendous contributions to our School and to our local community. The Spirit Award was presented to these individuals by T.J. Frank ’93, the 2019-2020 President of the Lamplighter Alumni Association.

The annual Spirit Award Luncheon serves as the culmination of week-long celebration of Alumni Days in which Lamplighter alumni return to campus to spend time with students. Alumni deliver presentations about their careers and share special Lamplighter memories with current students. A special thank you to Jen Wallace ’94, Matt Miller ’88, Tony Ruggeri ’92, David Smart ’01, Kathryn Nelson ’93, Gray Malin ’96, Gary Cohen ’80, Brent Jackson ’84, and Elizabeth Brown ’83 for serving as this year’s special alumni guests.

  • The Lamplighter School
  • 11611 Inwood Road
  • Dallas, Texas 75229
  • T: 214-369-9201
powered by finalsite